Venezuela: EU adds 11 officials to sanctions list


Photo: European Union

On 25 June 2018, the Council decided to put 11 individuals holding official positions under restrictive measures. The persons listed are responsible for human rights violations and for undermining democracy and the rule of law in Venezuela. The measures include a travel ban and an asset freeze.

This decision is a direct follow-up to the Council conclusions adopted on 28 May 2018, which called for additional targeted and reversible restrictive measures that do not harm the Venezuelan population in response to the recent presidential elections held in Venezuela. 

As indicated in the conclusions, the elections held in Venezuela on 20 May 2018 were neither free nor fair and their outcome lacked any credibility as the electoral process did not ensure the necessary guarantees for them to be inclusive and democratic. Against this background, the EU also called for the holding of fresh presidential elections in accordance with internationally recognised democratic standards and the Venezuelan constitutional order. On the same occasion, the EU also reiterated the need to respect all democratically elected institutions, notably the National Assembly, to release all political prisoners and to uphold democratic principles, rule of law and human rights. These remain essential points in light of which the EU will adapt its policy.

Read the full press statement here.

Visit the meeting the page on the website of the Council of the European Union.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More