European Food Safety Authority: new members appointed


From left to right: Mr Frans TIMMERMANS, Vice President of the European Commission; Mr Johannes HAHN, European Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy & Enlargement Negotiations.

Photo: European Union

On 26 June 2018 the Council appointed 7 new members of the management board of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA).

The following people were appointed to replace the current EFSA members whose term of office will expire on 30 June 2018:

  • Geronimo Răducu Brănescu
  • Herman Diricks
  • Libor Dupal
  • Iñaki Eguileor
  • Raymond O'Rourke
  • András Székács
  • Annette Toft


EFSA is governed by a Management Board that comprises 15 members with a wide range of expertise related to the food chain but who do not represent a government, organisation or sector. Four members have a background in organisations representing consumers and other interests in the food chain. The European Commission is also represented.

Members are appointed by the Council of the European Union, after consulting the European Parliament.

Read the full press statement here.

Visit the meeting the page on the website of the Council of the European Union.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More