Mário Centeno starts mandate as Eurogroup President


Photo: From left to right: Mr Jeroen DIJSSELBLOEM, President of the Eurogroup until 12.01.2018; Mr Mario CENTENO, President of the Eurogroup (European Union)

Mário Centeno will tomorrow start his mandate as Eurogroup President, taking over from Jeroen Dijsselbloem who served in the position since 2013. Euro area finance ministers elected Mr Centeno Eurogroup President on 4 December 2017, for a term of two and a half years.

Mr Centeno said: “I am highly motivated to take on the helm of the Eurogroup. We have a unique window of opportunity to deepen monetary union, making our common currency more resilient against future crises. Our responsibility is to deliver and meet the expectations of our citizens. I will spare no efforts to bring about the necessary consensus. I would also like to thank Jeroen Dijsselbloem for his strong leadership in the Eurogroup in a period where the euro area was put to the test”.

Read more on the website of the Council of the European Union

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More