North Korea: EU sanctions 17 DPRK nationals involved in activities aimed at evading sanctions


Photo: Ms Federica MOGHERINI, High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy
Copyright: European Union

The Council has added 17 individuals to its list of those subject to an asset freeze and travel restrictions. These listings come in addition to those drawn up by the United Nations, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.

The sanctions have been adopted as a means of maintaining pressure on the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in view of its continued and accelerated development of nuclear and ballistic programmes in flagrant disregard of previous UN Security Council resolutions.

Read the press lease here.

Visit the meeting page on the website of the Council of the European Union.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More