Europol: Council appoints Catherine De Bolle as Executive Director


From left to right: Mr Dimiter TZANTCHEV, Permanent Representative of Bulgaria to the EU; Mr Valentin RADEV, Bulgarian Minister for the Interior.

Photo: European Union

On 8 March 2018, the Council appointed Catherine De Bolle from Belgium as the next Executive Director of Europol.

The Executive Director of Europol is appointed for a four-year term, which can be renewed once. The director oversees the administration of Europol and the management of its personnel, and is responsible for the performance of tasks assigned to it.

Catherine De Bolle was selected by the Council from a list of suitable candidates proposed by the management board of Europol. Following her selection, she attended a hearing at the European Parliament LIBE committee, which issued a non-binding positive opinion on 1 March 2018. Catherine De Bolle is currently commissioner general of the Belgian federal police.

The term of the current Executive Director, Rob Wainwright, expires on 1 May 2018.

Visit the meeting the page on the website of the Council of the European Union.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More