North Korea: EU aligns its restrictive measures with latest UN sanctions


Photo: European Union

The Council has added one person and 21 entities to the list of those subject to restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), transposing into EU law sanctions imposed on 30 March 2018 by the UN Security Council (UNSC) Committee established by UNSC resolution 1718 (2006). These restrictive measures consist of a travel ban and an asset freeze for individuals and an asset freeze for entities. It has also transposed the asset freeze targeting 15 vessels, the port entry ban on 25 vessels and the de-flagging of 12 vessels.

The sanctions were imposed on the DPRK in response to its nuclear weapon and ballistic missile development activities, which are in breach of numerous UNSC resolutions.

The decision brings the total number of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures against the DPRK to 80 persons and 75 entities as listed by the UN. In addition, 55 persons and 9 entities have been sanctioned by the EU autonomously.

The EU implements all UN Security Council resolutions adopted in response to the DPRK's nuclear programmes and nuclear weapons, other weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes. In addition, the EU has imposed autonomous restrictive measures against the DPRK, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.

The legal acts were adopted by written procedure. They will be published in the Official Journal of 9 April.

Read the full press release on the website of the Council of the European Union.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More