North Korea: EU adds four persons involved in financing of nuclear programme to sanctions list


Photo: European Union

The Council added four persons to the list of those subject to the restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). These restrictive measures consist of a travel ban and an asset freeze. The four individuals have been involved in deceptive financial practices which are suspected of contributing to the DPRK's nuclear-related, ballistic-missile-related or other weapons of mass destruction-related programmes.

The EU's sanctions regime against the DPRK is its toughest on any country. These sanctions were adopted in response to the DPRK's nuclear weapon and ballistic missile development activities, which are in breach of numerous UNSC resolutions. The EU not only transposes the sanctions imposed by the UN but also has its own autonomous sanctions regime on the DPRK, which complements and reinforces the sanctions adopted by the UN. The additional listings adopted today are part of the EU's autonomous sanctions regime against the DPRK. 


Read the full press release on the website of the Council of the European Union. 

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More