North Korea: EU aligns its lists of sanctioned people and entities with the latest UN Security Council resolution


The Council has added 16 persons and one entity, the Ministry of the People's Armed Forces (MPAF), to the lists of those subject to an asset freeze and travel restrictions, transposing part of the new sanctions imposed by UN Security Council resolution 2397 (2017).

This resolution was adopted on 22 December 2017 in response to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)'s ongoing nuclear weapon and ballistic missile-development activities, with flagrant disregard for previous UN Security Council resolutions.

The decision brings the total number of persons under restrictive measures against the DPRK to 79 persons and 54 entities as listed by the UN. In addition, 41 persons and 10 entities are designated by the EU autonomously.

Read more on the website of the Council of the European Union

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More